Turkey and Broccoli Stuffed Shells

So I must start by saying this was the 2nd round of stuffed shells I made the other night… I will post the intended shells right after this.

99% of the time when I buy a pound of jumbo stuffed shells, and cook them up, 33%-50% of them end up getting split in half or sliced in one way or another. I’ve been in this jam before, so now I buy 2 boxes at a time and typically have about 5-8 leftover – not a big deal when I can have perfectly cooked and looking shells.

By some FLUKE I only had about 3-4 bad shells after both the pounds were drained and lightly coated/tossed with olive oil. This is a VERY important step so they don’t stick to one another in the stuffing process.

Long story short, I made enough filling for 1 dozen and was all the sudden left with a dozen of perfectly cooked and READY shells. I literally threw things that I had together, sans ricotta… and came up with these shells. I used eggs to make them stick together and give it a smooth consistency, but at the end of the day, ricotta works the best. Although, these are MUCH less fattening!
Ingredients:

Shells –

  • 1 LB Large Shells
  • 1LB ground turkey
  • 10oz frozen broccoli, thawed and cut into small pieces
  • 1 small onion, small chopped
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 cups shredded mozz cheese
  • Italian seasoning
  • Crushed red pepper
  • salt-n-pep
Squeezed/Sprinkled over top when serving –
  • Juice from 1 lemon
  • Extra Virgin Olive oil (I typically don’t specify this, because I assume we all use the ‘extra’ best!)
  • Parmesan cheese

Directions:

  1. Boil a large pot of oiled and salted water, cook shells AL DENTE (this is very important!) Drain, stir gently with olive oil and set aside.
  2. In the meantime, mix together  ground turkey with Italian seasoning, crushed red pepper and salt-n-pep. Add onion and broccoli, mix well. Throw in the eggs at this point to help mesh everything together. Make sure you whip the eggs in a separate bowl first so they mix in easier, then Stir in cheese. If the mixture isn’t sticking together well, add another egg or chicken broth that’s been thickened up a bit with flour.
  3. Stuff the shells while still leaving room for them to close (do not use my photo as an example, at that point in the night I just wanted them done!)  and lay them in a sprayed or buttered dish.
  4. Bake, covered with tin foil, at 350 for 25-35mins. Everyone’s oven is different, so make sure you cook the turkey through.
  5. Serve with fresh squeeze lemon juice over top, drizzle of olive oil and  fresh parmesan sprinkled.
  6. Bon Appétit!!
Leave a Reply

