Zucchini Sausage Lasagna

For my part of Fridays dinner I wanted to use up some of this enORMOUS zucchini I got from someone at work. This is genuine home-grown organic beautiful zucchini so it had to be used properly. I found a recipe for Zucchini lasagna promoting it as a “Low-carb” recipe, however after I tweaked the ingredients up and tripled the amount of sausage, by NO means is this a low-carb except for having no bread or pasta in it. My Mom said, “I love how when you find a recipe that has sausage in it you completely ignore the quantity and always double or quadruple it” 🙂 yes… it is NO secret that I absolutely LOVE LOVE LOVE sausage! Pork, chicken, turkey, stuffed with cheese.. anything.. I LOVE sausage…
Now that we have that out of the way… here comes the Zuc:

Like traditional lasagna it consists of meat layers, cheese layers and in this case Zucchini layers.
I pre-made it at my apartment to make-it-easier… however after 2 sink fulls of dishes and not the proper size baking dish… this could have been MUCH easier.. Needless to say I managed to make-it-work and it was to the tip top of the brim when it went in the oven.

After you arrange all the layers in the baking dish, everything is already cooked and pretty hot, it’s supposed to go back into the oven for another 10 mins to melt the cheese on top (which I forgot to buy from Wegmans..) and have the layers mesh together and get super hot. Well, by the time we got to the house things were slightly cooled down and I thought (another key word here is I) that 20 mins in the oven would be fine. I sliced up some mozzarella my parents ALWAYS have in the fridge (we’re Italian!) and threw it in the oven… it turned out fabulous and tasted SO good and VERY sausagey! 🙂

 

Ingredients:

  • 2-1/2 cups Zucchini, sliced 1/4″ thick (approx 2 med.)
  • 1-1/2 lbs HOT sausage
  • 2 small onions, chopped
  • 2 small tomatoes, cut up
  • 1 (6 oz) can tomato paste
  • 1 garlic clove, minced (or use garlic powder)
  • 1/2 tsp dried oregano
  • 1/2 tsp dried basil
  • 1/4 tsp dried thyme
  • +1 tsp red pepper flakes (or more for snappiness)
  • 1/2 tsp chili powder
  • 1/8 tsp pepper
  • 1/4 tsp salt (to desired taste)
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 1 egg
  • 3/4 cup ricotta
  • 8 oz mozzarella, divided (or shredded mozz)
  • 1 tsp flour

Steps:

  1. Cook Zucchini until tender, drain and set aside. Can either Boil or Bake.
  2. Saute onions till brown, add meat until all cooked.
  3. Add tomatoes, tomato paste, garlic, water and all spices. Bring to a boil.
  4. Reduce heat; simmer, uncovered 10 mins or reduced and thickened.
  5. In a small bowl beat egg, Add Ricotta, half the mozz and flour.
  6. In 1-1/2 qt. baking-roasting pan arrange half the meat mixture. Top with half the Zuc, then all the ricotta mix. Another layer of meat on top and then zuc.
  7. Bake uncovered at 375F for 30 mins.
  8. Sprinkle with remaining cheese. Back 10 mins longer.

Note:

-Attention Mild tastebudders: I LOVE hotness and spicyness, So I add red pepper flakes and chili/cayenne powder to everything.. and lots of it…

Leave a Reply

