Meaty Chili

DSCI0377

I have TONS of meat in my freezer I’m trying to use up, so I thought to make a massive amount of chili. The recipe I got from Mom is from Silver pallet, but it’s for 35-40 people… So I tried to cut it down but it still tasted REALLY season-ey so I ended up adding more tomatoes, wine and another pound of meat… needless to say it made a tonnn. This is a 6-quart stockpot and you can see how filled up this bad-boy is.

At any rate, I brought a bunch into work and gave the rest to friends & family. I put Venison Sausage in there too so extra delish. Has a nice kick at the end and is SUPER flavorful.

Ingredients:

  • olive oil
  • 1 lb chopped yellow onions
  • 1 lb sausage
  • 1 lb ground beef
  • 1 (12oz) can tomato paste
  • 2 TBsp garlic
  • 2 oz (1/4  cup) Dijon mustard
  • 3 large cans Crushed tomatoes
  • 3 (15.5) oz red kidney beans, drained
  • 1 cup red wine
  • 1-2 TBsp ground cumin
  • 2-3 Tbsp chili powder
  • 1 TBsp black pepper
  • 2 TBsp salt
  • 2 TBsp basil
  • 2 Tbsp oregano
  • 2 Tbsp parsley
  • +2 TBsp crushed red pepper
  • 1 TBsp cayenne
  • 3 TBsp lemon juice

Steps:

  1. Heat oil, add onions till translucent
  2. Crumble sausage and beef into separate pot and cook till brown
  3. Stir in tomato paste and all dried seasonings.
  4. Add crushed toms, wine, lemon juice, beans and meat. Simmer uncovered 30mins – 1 hr.
  5. Throw in crock to keep warm and serve.
3 Comments Add yours

  1. Mom says:

    Does this mean you’re not a vegetarian anymore???

    1. I had a tiny bit of it, but I brought the rest into work 😉 NO WORRIES!

  2. Puggy says:

    Woooohoo meeaty chili! Go Marielle!

Leave a Reply

