Chocolate Hummus

4033039941_ebaae7a019

I know I know what you’re thinking! CHOCOLATE HUMMUS? Isn’t that made with Chickpeas? Well… Yes it is actually!! I got this awesome recipe from Hannah of Bittersweet.

I ADORE Hummus so this totally caught my eye and I HAD to try it. It’s quite delicious! Definitely serve for breakfast with toast, a much healthier Nutella, or I had it with Apples for dessert. It’s more of a semi-sweet taste, probably because I used Dark Cocoa, but I’ll be experimenting with other’s in the future.

The only tweeks I did was remove the coffee powder and add more peanut butter. I started eating this with a spoon… so beware! 🙂

Thanks Hannah!! I could use some of your picture skills as well! 😉

 Recipe courteous of Hannah from Bittersweet.

Ingredients:

  • 1 15-Ounce Can Chickpeas
  • 3 oz (6 TBsp)  Peanut Butter
  • 3 Tablespoons Olive Oil
  • 1/2 Cup Dutch-Processed Cocoa Powder (I used Hershey’s Dark Choc. Powder)
  • 1/2 Cup Granulated Sugar
  • 1 Teaspoon Instant Coffee Powder (opt.)
  • 1 Teaspoon Vanilla Extract
  • 1/2 Teaspoon Salt
  • 2 – 4 Tablespoons Water

Steps:

  1. Put everything in food processor minus the water. Scrape down sides and keep mixing till all blended.
  2. While it’s running slowly add the water, keep checking on it till you like the texture. (I used 3 Tbsps)
  3. Serve on Toast or fruit!
7 Comments Add yours

  1. KennyT says:

    Coincidentally I have a can of chickpeas and some cocoa powder, will try this recipe out.

    1. Don’t forget the peanut butter!

  2. mangocheeks says:

    Wow, I am going to try this out.

  3. This article is actually the freshest on this valuable topic. I concur with your viewpoints and will eagerly look forward to your coming updates. Just saying thanks will not just be enough, for the great clarity in your writing. I will directly grab your rss feed to stay in the loop of any updates. Good work and good luck in your writing!

  4. Saveur says:

    This looks really interesting! I never thought chocolate and chickpeas would marry well… we’ll see!

  5. Nena K says:

    We LOVE Nutella, so I replaced the peanut butter with 1/2 c. Hazelnuts and processed them first, then added the other ingredients. A pretty close taste with a different texture. Next time, I’m going to try using dried chickpeas that I’ve cooked a bit longer so they process smoother. A nice healthy change to the sweet Nutella!

  6. My family loves Nutella. My dad makes delicious Nutella crepes, and I wonder if this will make a decent substitute? Worth a try!

Leave a Reply

