Roasted Garlic Couscous with Tomatoes & Basil and Martinis!

DSCI0156

Yesterday I marked the beginning of Fall, but last night I was feeling nostalgic about the end of summer… especially since I’m trying to use up my tomatoes & basil before the cold kills them!

I decided to make a Fresh light summer dinner with a cool fruity martini. There is no difference in taste between the wheat and regular couscous, or even in color for the matter. I also wanted to put lemon juice in here, but only had limes, which was delicious!

The Martini composed of: 1.5 oz Vodka, 1 oz triple sec, 1 oz berry juice, and a splash of pomegranate concentrate. DELISH!

DSCI0157

Ingredients:

  • 1 box wheat garlic couscous
  • 2 small tomatoes, coarse chop
  • 1/4 cup chopped red onion
  • 1/2 cup chopped fresh basil
  • Juice from 1 lime
  • salt and fresh ground pepper

Steps:

  1. Cook couscous as directed but omit the butter and use Olive Oil instead, just a few good swirls in the water.
  2. Chop everything up and toss together with a fork!
One Comment Add yours

  1. JimmyBean says:

    I don’t know If I said it already but …I’m so glad I found this site…Keep up the good work I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say GREAT blog. Thanks, 🙂

    A definite great read..Jim Bean

Leave a Reply

