French Onion Soup

Soup

My Dad and I are ADDICTED to French Onion Soup,  and always get it at Magnolia’s, so I thought I’d make some for us to see if I can make it as good!

You can obviously make it all sorts of ways, but I like the onions pretty chunky and the broth REALLY flavorful. I totally guessed and just added as I went while making this, so it is quite different from other recipes but what the heck right?

So I get home from my run and I start chopping up these onions alllllllll ready to make the soup… then I realized I forgot to buy Beef broth! (Note to self: having texting wars while grocery shopping makes you forget things)

At any rate, the soup turned out AMAZING and there really wasn’t that much to it!

Dad says I kick Magnolia’s butt any day! 😉

DSCI0014

Ingredients:

  • 6-7 medium-small cooking onions, rough chop
  • 6 cups beef broth
  • 1/2 cup white wine
  • 2 bay leaves
  • 1/2 tsp paprika
  • Olive oil
  • ~1 tsp sugar
  • salt-n-pep to taste
  • Mozzarella cheese
  • Italian bread
  • Italian Seasoning

Steps:

  1. Rough chop onions and throw in a large pot with enough broth to submerge the onions halfway. Throw a good coating of olive oil and the sugar and mix.
  2. Cover and cook on med. heat till onions are soft approx 15-20 mins.
  3. Add in remaining beef broth, wine, paprika, salt-n-pep and bay leaves. Bring to a boil then reduce to low for 30mins-1hour, top off.
  4. Remove Bay leaves. Ladle into oven-safe bowls, leave enough room for bread on top, then lay Mozz. cheese all over.
  5. Broil till brown and crispy, approx 3 mins. Then remove and dash Italian Seasoning over.
  6. Enjoy! 🙂

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Sam says:

    French onion is one of my favourite soups of all time, it’s not often that onions are the main vegetables in a dish they’re normally just a background flavour so it’s nice to give them a chance to shine!

    Thanks for the link you sent me, I would love anything from that set, if only the postage wasn’t $45!….

  2. Now that looks like some really good French Onion Soup! And like you said easy to make. I found your blog via Blogher and I’d love to direct our Foodista readers to it. If that’s okay with you, just add your choice of widget to this post and you’re all set!

  3. Larissa says:

    WOW!!!! That looks straight out of our favorite place on Park Ave!!! I am thoroughly impressed and can’t WAIT to try it (hint hint………………hint) 🙂

Leave a Reply

