Basil Vinaigrette

saladsalad dressing 2

So I have TONS of basil plants growing outside on my little patio and after returning from Long Island this past weekend the basil leaves got HUGE!

I love pesto, but I was curious on what other things I could use up a lot of fresh basil with. At first I was going to make tomato-basil soup, but I’m not a huge fan of tomato soup in general so I didn’t want to waste anything.

Then I found this recipe and it is sooo delicious! The flavor is awesome but I wouldn’t eat it at work since you might smell like garlic and onion! πŸ˜‰

Basil Vinaigrette:

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 cup red wine vinegar
  • 2 TBsp granulated sugar
  • 3/4 cup fresh basil leaves
  • 2 shallots
  • 2 garlic cloves
  • 1/4 tsp fresh ground pepper
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • Juice from 1/2 lemon
  • 3/4 cup vegetable oil

Steps:

  1. In a blender or food processor, combine all ingredients except the oil, and blend until smooth.
  2. With the machine running, add the oil in a slow steady stream until incorporated.

Β 

la petite chef Pink

5 Comments Add yours

  1. zoe says:

    This sounds awesome. I love a light flavorful vinaigrette!

  2. SPB says:

    My daughter planted a ton of basil… and I do mean a ton so this recipe will be perfect. Homemade dressings are so much better than the store bought!

    ::

  3. Rashmi says:

    Hi Marielle Christine!

    This sounds interesting, will tryout sometime. And i liked your signature lady a lot :), its going well with your layout!

    Cheers
    Rashmi

  4. This would be awesome with caprese salad. Tomatoes and basil were just made for each other! πŸ™‚

  5. BitterSweet says:

    Love this idea! I, on the other hand, have an abundance of chives that I think would make a fabulous substitute for basil in this recipe. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

