Falafels with Tzatziki

Sorella

My Sister came over for a nice “girls night” yesterday and had been craving Falafels for weeks now, so we decided to make them! I searched around some recipes, which there are MANY of variations, in fact you can even buy a box of the mix and just add water.. but come ON now! So (as USUAL) I tweaked a recipe from Ricardo Larrivee which I found on More than Burnt Toast.

Then I made Tzatziki by guessing more-or-less. I forgot to get Yogurt.. yeah just the MAIN ingredient.. So I used a 50-50 blend of cream cheese and sour cream which worked just as well, maybe even added more flavoring.

We paired this with my fresh summer Couscous recipe I’ve been obsessed with 🙂 and a Spinach Salad with bocconcini and my sister’s homemade balsamic dressing.

We sat outside on my porch and people watched, it was a gorgeous 78 degrees so it was perfect with a cool glass of Chardonay! Bon Appetite!

Falafels:

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup chickpeas
  • 1/2 cup fine bulgur
  • 1/4 flour (white or wheat)
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 2 tsp salt
  • 1 onion, coarsely chopped
  • 6-8 cloves garlic
  • Juice from one lemon
  • 1 tsp ground cumin
  • 2 tsp ground coriander
  • 1/2 tsp cayenne
  • 2 tsp dried parsley (or 1/4 cup fresh)
  • Vegetable Oil for frying

Steps:

  1. In a bowl, combine bulgur, flour, baking powder, and salt. Set aside.
  2. In a food processor, finely chop onion, garlic, lemon juice (and parsley if using fresh)
  3. Add Chickpeas and spices and process until pureed. Add dry mixture and pulse until a smooth dough forms.
  4. Shape 2 TBsp of dough into a patty. Fry falafels in thin layer of oil until golden brown.

 

 

Tzatziki:

Ingredients:

  • 1 cucumber, seeded coarse chop
  • Juice from 1/2 lemon
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • 6oz cream cheese & 6 oz sour cream OR 12oz greek yogurt
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1/4 cup olive oil

Steps:

  1. Squeeze chopped cucumbers in paper towels to drain as much water as possible.
  2. Throw cucumber and garlic into food processor (some people like to peel cucumber for looks) finely blend then add all other ingredients and process till smooth.

la petite chef Blue

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Larissa says:

    OMG these falafels were outrageous!!! The pictures are coming! This was also the best meal because you felt good afterwards, full, not heavy or bloated. One of my favorites!!!

  2. zoe says:

    I love tzatziki so much! I always bought from the store but I may just make it at home thanks to your recipe! Thanks for sharing!

  3. Robert says:

    I was going through my comments when I ran across your note on one of my recipes. I wanted to view your blog and found this recipe. As it happens I have been looking for a good one to prepare at the request of someone visiting from Israel. I will try this one for sure. Thanks for visiting my blog.

  4. Karen Harris says:

    Thanks for visiting my site. I just now found your comment which led me to your beautiful blog. My daughter LOVES falafel so these are a must for me to make. I’ll let you know how it goes.

Leave a Reply

