Penne with Shrimp & Asparagus in a Red Pepper Cream Sauce

Penne with Shrimp & Asparagus in a Red Pepper Cream Sauce

I wanted to cook up something pretty easy (ps all I’m STILL Vegetarian but that could change soon) This is a very good dish, actually it’s called “Low-fat” but I really wouldn’t put it exactly into that category because you cheat a little by buying jarred Alfredo Sauce. It is KEY to buy something good quality… Of course I tweaked a recipe I found, but they used Di Giorno Sauce which you can’t even find anywhere, but might as well be Ragu for crying out loud.. yuck!

I am ashamed of not making my own Alfredo since it’s really not too hard I just didn’t want to do that much work! I also used Whole Wheat Penne and if you overcook it, it tastes just like regular! 🙂

I cut back the portions and I would say it still feeds 4 good-size servings, so get ready for leftovers!

Ingredients:

  • 1 (15oz) jar Alfredo Sauce (good quality)
  • 1/4 lb chopped asparagus (approx 8 stalks chopped 2-3inches long)
  • 24 (approx 16oz) uncooked Shrimp 41-50 count
  • 1/2 Lb Penne Rigate
  • 5.5oz can Tomato Sauce
  • 1/2 red bell pepper (small dice)
  • 4 oz fresh sliced mushrooms (baby browns)
  • Creole Seasoning
  • salt-n-pep to taste
  • 1/2 TBsp Cayenne

Steps:

  1. Dice red bell pepper and saute in skillet until it begins to soften
  2. Add fresh sliced Mushrooms and saute for an additional 3-5 mins. Then remove from heat.
  3. Blanch chopped asparagus for approx 5 mins, or until stalks are tender. Throw in pepper and mushroom pan to rest.
  4. Season Shrimp with Creole Seasoning and Saute in another skillet. Then remove from heat.
  5. Add Alfredo, tomato sauce, cayenne, salt-n-pep to pepper and mushroom mix and bring to just under a few bubbles. Reduce heat to low and add shrimp.
  6. Toss with Penne.
  7. Buon Appetito!


Alfredo Ingredients:

  • 1/4 cup butter
  • 1 cup heavy cream
  • 1 clove garlic, crushed
  • 1-1/2 cups freshly grated Parmesan Cheese

Steps:

  1. Melt butter in med. saucepan over med. low heat.
  2. Add cream and simmer 5 mins, then add garlic and cheese and whisk quickly, heating through.
  3. Optional: Stir in chopped fresh parsley

9 Comments Add yours

  1. Sara says:

    Looks delicious! I think it would be great for a quick and tasty weeknight meal.

  2. zoe says:

    Amazing. I love that you used creole seasoning.

  3. Claudia Haas says:

    The Creole seasoning also intiruges me. My children (20 and 22) will eat anything covered with Alfredo! I also love the ease of the recipe – there are eves I need to put something on the table and go to work! This looks scumptious.

    1. The Creole does sound a little off with the creaminess of the Alfredo HOWEVER it gives the shrimp just a perfect kick of flavor and seeps into the cream sauce to also give that a little punch. They marry quite well together! YUM!

  4. Priti says:

    Looks gud ….adding shrimp is nice …

  5. I am drooling. Thanks! I love a good home made alfredo sauce 🙂

  6. I love everything about this recipe! I see a romantic dinner with the hubby and this meal quite soon!

  7. Lucy says:

    This looks delicious! I admit to occasionally keeping a jar of alfredo sauce in the pantry. Got to go for the good quality, though, because a lot of brands have HFCS in them. The jarred alfredo makes a tasty spur-of-the-moment fondue, just doctor it up with chicken broth and some shredded Parmesan cheese. Good dippers are carrots, skinny cracker-like breadsticks, even pickles.

    Great site! I’ll be back!

  8. Larissa- big sis says:

    Hey sis! Do you think I could add sliced chicken instead of shrimp? And what do you recommend if we are not mushroom lovers? I love the idea of the creole and alfredo….YUMMO!

Leave a Reply

